Import, Export & Synchronisation

Navigation:  Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) >

Import, Export & Synchronisation

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Import, Export & Synchronisation Frequently Asked Questions

General

Q.Can I save my Import/Export/Synchronisation report
A.Yes. Simply right-click in the report windows and select "Copy to clipboard". You can then save the report into Notepad (or any text editor) to save or print

Primavera P6 Installation Defaults

If you (or your System Administrator) performed a Primavera Standalone Installation, and you are now trying to install the Primavera Integration API (IAPI) You may need the following information during the installing or database configuring phase...

The Primavera Standalone installation may be provided with either:

·Microsoft SQL-Server Express Edition.

                 or

·Oracle 10g Express Edition. (supplied in later editions of P6)

The defaults are dependant upon the database installed at the time Primavera P6 is installed. Some of these values can also be changed during or after the initial installation has completed (contact your System Administrator if this is the case):

Value:

MS-SQL Server Express Edition

Oracle 10g Express Edition

Note:

Host name

%COMPUTERNAME%

%COMPUTERNAME%

See Note 3.

Public User Name

pubuser

PUBPRM$PM


Public User Password

pubuser


See Note 4.

Privileged User Name

privuser

PRIVPRM$PM


Privileged User Password

privuser


See Note 4.

Database Name

pmdb$primavera

xe

See Note 4.

Database Administrator User Name

sa

system

See Note 4.

Database Administrator Password



See Note 4.

P6 Administrator User name

admin

admin


P6 Administrator Password

admin

admin


Notes:

1.All values are subject to change.
 
Please contact your System Administrator, Oracle Support or Product Documentation for additional information...
 
P6 connection details are also provided in the Primavera Help->About dialog in the Systems tab:
 
2.For MS-SQL Server Database Administrator password is NOT required when Windows Authentication is enabled
3.%COMPUTERNAME% refers to the computer name defined in Start->Control Panel->System->Computer Name
4.Password defined during the installation process

Equipment Library

Q.How do I access the SYNCHRO Equipment Library
A.The SYNCHRO Equipment library is accessible via FTP at the following address

URL:

ftp://ftp.synchroltd.com

Username:

models

Password:

models

Shortcut:

ftp://models:models@sho-ftp.synchroltd.com

Synchronisation FROM CAD Models

Q.I don't understand Synchronisation FROM for CAD Models
A.If a design revision is made it is possible to modify the 3D models and retain the assigned links. When you perform a "Synchronise FROM" operation:
1.Select the 3D Objects Window
2.Right click on the original CAD model imported and select Synchronise Fromů then Browse
3.Select new updated CAD model (saved as same name or new name), then Open, then select Synchronise
4.The Synchronisation window (similar to that shown below) will appear
 

Synchronisation will update all aspects of an element, including it's shape, position, rotation, scale and material colour. If you have simply modified existing elements in the CAD model rather than deleting and recreating them, SYNCHRO will update those 3D Objects and retain the assignment of the 3D Objects to Resources, as well as the assignment of the Resources to the Tasks.

Synchronisation will recognise new and removed elements in the file, and offer you choices whether or not you wish to include these in the synchronisation process (check the box circled in red above to Create Resources for new 3D Objects)

For example, in the Training Project, the roof is to be made wider and 8 columns are to be introduced to support it as shown below

After performing Synchronise from

You will see that no resources have been lost so the Roof Slab is still assigned to related task.

There are more new objects than old as we have also added the new roof columns.

3 objects have been subdivided and retained.

Synchronisation FROM Planning Systems

Q.I don't understand Synchronisation FROM for Planning Systems
A.

Synchronisation is the process through which a plan in a 3rd party system can be updated with changes made in SYNCHRO and vice versa. This has a number of benefits:

·You can keep using your familiar planning environment while and harness the abilities of SYNCHRO for project simulation and 4D planning.
·You can continue to leverage the powerful reporting of your original planning system.
·You can feedback progress reports and changes from SYNCHRO to your original plan.

To achieve successful synchronisation with external project plans, there are a few principles and recommendations which need to be observed:

1.The application being synchronised to or from may be running, but the file should be closed.
2.Import, or develop your schedule in SYNCHRO and Export, ONCE, and thereafter Synchronise.
 
Once the project plan has been imported (or exported), all subsequent project plan changes should be exchanged using the Synchronise (To or From) operations.
3.Manage Change.
 
Decide which application contains your Master Schedule. Try to make changes to the Master Schedule FIRST, then Synchronise to the Servant Schedule.
 
Making changes to both schedules at the same time could result in conflicts, loss of information and unexpected behaviour.
4.Some parameters cannot be exchanged.
 
Some properties within SYNCHRO may not have a corresponding property or value within the 3rd Party software, or vice-versa (see Interoperability: Planning Systems for specific details with regards your planning application)
5.Reschedule, Reschedule, Reschedule
 
Make sure your project schedule, either in SYNCHRO or your Planning application, is correct before import, export or synchronisation.
 
In SYNCHRO, use the Automatic Rescheduling option to keep you schedule up to date, or press F9 to manually reschedule. Check the documentation of your planning application for similar functionality; in Primavera P6, use the "File->Commit Changes" command (F10 key) and  "File->Refresh Data" command (F9 key); in Asta PowerProject, use "Views->Refresh Views", or the F5 key.
 
Rescheduling before import, export, or synchronisation allows you to quickly visually check that the operation was successful; and also avoids confusion when tasks are Automatically Rescheduled in SYNCHRO - this is particularly useful if you are working with applications that don't reschedule automatically.
6.Use the Original Schedule
 
The import (or export) process establishes a 'link' ('tie', or 'synchronisation reference') between the schedule in SYNCHRO and the original import (from Asta, Primavera or MS Project).
 
This 'link' can include (but is not limited to) the following information:
·Filename
·Database Name (including server hostname)
·Project Name (either within a File or Database)